The new "Sommerfrische"

Schwarza Valley Panorama Trail

The wild and romantic Schwarza Valley is a natural treasure – and not just because a lot of precious stones and gold have been found there. On the Panorama Trail, hikers can get an idea of it. In the “Sommerfrische valley”, they will see not only scenic highlights, but also other attractions such as the refurbished Schwarzburg Palace or the world’s steepest funicular.

The term “Sommerfrische” appeared for the first time in the German dictionary compiled by the Brothers Grimm. It was defined as: “a holiday that city dwellers take in the country in the summer”. The magical Schwarza Valley seemed to be made for this! Following the expansion of the Schwarzatalbahn (Schwarza Valley railway), the wild and romantic valley at the northern edge of the Thuringian Highlands attracted crowds of holidaymakers from the beginning of the 20th century. And many of them increasingly wanted to do more than “just” relax in a guest house. They wanted to get out and about – alone, in a group, with a guide. The advantage of having a knowledgeable local guide is that hikers generally get a couple of extras with their tour, especially, as in our case, with Andrea and Gunter Werrmann.

After all, these two pensioners have deep roots in the region and are well-versed in its history and stories. They are also enthusiastic runners. She is the deputy chair of the rambling club in Saalfeld, and he is on the management board of the Thuringian Mountain and Rambling Association. 

 

Many stages, many possibilities

The moderately difficult trail, which involves a cumulative elevation gain of 3,800 metres, is expected to take about a week. If you do not have that much time, you can choose individual stages in the trail portal. You can still incorporate many highlights (and digital hiking stamping points) into your route!

The Werrmanns’ special tour does not meet at the trail’s official starting point in the Schwarza district of Rudolstadt, but in nearby Bad Blankenburg, specifically at the 200-year-old Chrysopras-Wehr waterfall, named after the light green semi-precious stones (chrysoprase) that were sought, albeit in vain, not far from here. “Other sparkling finds were and are actually hidden amongst the gravel on the river bed, but gold is generally only found as tiny specks,” say the Werrmanns. And they also tell us about other (bathing) delights of the Schwarza River, such as the whirlpools upriver. “When the water level is right, the ancient shale hollows produce whirlpool-like pools.”

Intoxicating valley views

Refreshments taste even better when you have earned them. So “look lively!” because the red triangles on a white background soon branch away from the popular riverside path and line an ascent through the deciduous forest to the “Scheesenweg”. On this path, carriages once carried noble lords, wine and boar meat to the Eberstein hunting lodge, which was kept in the style of Moorish ruins. A majestic location for lively parties – and for a bite to eat. Its location on a spur comes with a 270-degree view of the Schwarza loop!

Well refreshed, we go downhill at a leisurely pace, past the whirlpools, to the “Schweizerhaus”, one of the few eateries on the trail, which then leads up and down until we reach Schwarzburg. These ten kilometres are one of the most beautiful sections of the Panorama Trail,” says Gunter. And immediately corrects himself: “Although all eight stages are actually beautiful.”

Wonderful views, steeped in history

If there ever was a main location for the Schwarza Valley Sommerfrische, it was here. When Germany was divided, thousands of East Germans spent their holidays in historic Sommerfrische houses in this area. It does not get quite as busy anymore, but talks, musical events, hiking offers and a “Sommerfrische Day” establish a connection to the golden age. Speaking of history, Friedrich Ebert signed the Weimar Constitution, Germany’s first democratic constitution, at Schwarzburg Palace on 11 August 1919. 

After the refurbishment work in 2021, the centuries-old palace is all the more worth visiting, especially the Emperor’s Hall and the weapons collection containing more than 5,000 items. There is also a charming view down to the village and the Schwarza River curving around the castle rocks. And what is that red colour back there, amongst extensive areas of forest and meadows? The Werrmanns know what it is – “the Fürstenkutsche (prince’s carriage)!” – and where the name comes from: “The Schwarzatalbahn is commemorating the princes of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt with stickers, information and a quiz.”

A ride on the train becomes a journey through time 

These trains run every hour, connecting eight stations – useful for locals and (hiking) tourists who want to save energy. The Werrmanns’ tip: get out in Obstfelderschmiede and change to the Thuringian Mountain Railway, a symbol of the Thuringian Forest’s identity. And a record holder. With a 25 % gradient, the funicular, which opened for passenger transport in 1923, is regarded as the world’s steepest railway for standard-gauge railway carriages. It’s a shame that the 17 minutes up to Lichtenhain are over so quickly! But there is good news: after a brief visit to the Maschinarium, which provides an insight into the environmentally friendly and energy-saving technology used for the two carriages – one of which is open-topped, the railway continues on the “flat section”.

Here it is all about distant views rather than valley scenery! In Cursdorf, it is time for everyone to alight! A half-hour walk takes us to the 30-metre-high Fröbel Tower, which provides an excellent view over the “mountain villages”. The “white giant” was erected in 1888 in honour of Friedrich Fröbel. We are constantly encountering the inventor of the kindergarten on a purely thematic level. For example in the Fröbel museums in Bad Blankenburg and Oberweissbach, his place of birth, in the Fröbel Forest with its extra-large play area, and on the Fröbel Hiking Trail between Bad Blankenburg and Keilhau.

Heading for the source

The keyword is hiking. There is one more highlight of the Panorama Trail that we definitely want to explore: the stage that leads along meandering mini-streams from the Scheibe-Alsbach  dam to the source of the Schwarza River. This is located beneath the famous Rennsteig, which runs along the ridges of the Thuringian Forest. The source, where the water comes out of a crevice, is a good place to fortify ourselves again. And to ponder: what will happen to the water that has just emerged on its 53-kilometre journey until it flows into the Saale? And: what other treats could we enjoy today?

A detour to the sculpture trail at the Leibis/Lichte drinking water dam? A flying visit to the “Haus der Natur” (House of Nature) in Goldisthal, which surely did not come second in the rankings for the most popular excursion destinations in Thuringia in 2023 without good reason? Or down to Katzhütte and via the “Fürstenkutsche” to Rottenbach, the “Station of the Year 2020”! Insight on the spot: the award is well-deserved, not only with respect to the authentic renovation of this gem, but also because of its intrinsic value. The light and modern railway farm shop acts as a café, a meeting point and a mini-shop for regional products. When drinking “coffee with grounds” and a butter-cream LPG cake, we almost hope that the connecting train to Erfurt might be late ...

Herbal remedy tradition
Around 400 years ago, a unique industry developed in the Schwarza Valley, dedicated to the production of herbal remedies. Women with an understanding of herbs collected wild mountain resources, which travelling apothecaries used to create precious oils, salves and tinctures, which they carried on their backs through the country and sold. And now? People are taught about herbs in talks, courses and museums – and in the “Olitätenwagen” (herbal remedies carriage) that runs on the “flat section” in the summer months.

 

 

Header Picture: ©Dominik Ketz, Regionalverbund Thüringer Wald e.V. 

Accessibility
 


Did you like this story?

landingpage_natur, markenbotschafter

In neuer Frische

Panoramaweg Schwarzatal

Das wildromantische Schwarzatal ist ein Naturjuwel – und das nicht nur wegen so manch Edelstein- und Goldfundes. Auf dem Panoramaweg können Wandernde sich ein Bild davon machen. Dabei erleben sie im „Tal der Sommerfrische“ neben landschaftlichen auch weitere Highlights wie das sanierte Schloss Schwarzburg oder die weltweit steilste Standseilbahn.

Der Begriff „Sommerfrische“ tauchte erstmals im Deutschen Wörterbuch der Gebrüder Grimm auf. Ihre Definition damals: „Erholungsaufenthalt der Städter auf dem Lande zur Sommerzeit“. Das märchenhafte Schwarzatal schien dafür wie gemacht! Beflügelt durch den Ausbau der Schwarzatalbahn zog das wildromantische Kerbtal am Nordrand des Thüringer Schiefergebirges ab Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts scharenweise Urlaubende an. Und viele wollten zunehmend mehr als „nur“ in einer Pension entspannen, nämlich unterwegs sein – allein, in der Gruppe, mit Guide. Vorteil hier: Mit ortskundiger Führung bekommen Wandernde generell ein paar Extras, im aktuellen Fall von Andrea und Gunter Werrmann sogar extraviele.

Schließlich kennen sich die in der Region verwurzelten Rentner sehr gut mit Geschichte(n) aus, laufbegeistert sind die beiden sowieso. Sie engagiert sich als 2. Vorsitzende im Wanderverein Saalfeld, er im Vorstand des Thüringer Gebirgs- und Wandervereins.

 

Viele Etappen, viele Möglichkeiten

Wer nicht eine ganze Woche investieren will – so lange dauert etwa die 3.800 Höhenmeter zählende, mittelschwere Tour –, wählt im Tourenportal Einzeletappen. Dabei lässt sich ja noch manch Highlight (und digitale Wanderstempelstelle) einbauen!

Werrmanns Spezialtour sieht vor, dass wir uns statt am offiziellen Wegstart in Rudolstadt-Schwarza im nahen Bad Blankenburg treffen, konkret am 200 Jahre alten Chrysopras-Wehr, benannt nach den unweit wenn auch vergeblich gesuchten hellgrünen Halbedelsteinen. „Andere Funkelfunde wurden und werden im Flusskies tatsächlich geborgen: Gold allerdings meist nur als winzige Körnchen“, erzählen die Werrmanns. Und von anderen (Bade-)Wonnen der Schwarza, etwa den Strudeltöpfen flussaufwärts. „Bei gutem Wasserstand ergeben die uralten Schiefersteinmulden whirlpoolartige Bassins.“

Berauschende Talblicke

Eine Erfrischung, die noch schöner ist, wenn man sie sich verdient hat. Also „Frisch auf!“, besser: frisch hinauf, denn schon bald zweigen die roten Dreiecke auf weißem Grund vom beliebten Uferweg ab und säumen einen Steig durch den Mischwald bis zum „Scheesenweg“. Auf dem beförderten Kutschen einst noble Herrschaften, Wein und Wildschweinfleisch zum im maurischen Ruinenstil gehaltenen Jagdschlösschen Eberstein. Ein erhabener Ort für rauschende Feste – und für eine Brotzeit. Allein die Lage auf dem Felssporn, 270-Grad-Blick auf die Schwarzaschlinge inklusive!

Gut gestärkt läuft es sich entspannt hangabwärts, vorbei an den Strudeltöpfen zum „Schweizerhaus“, eine der wenigen Gastrobetriebe am Weg. Der führt danach auf und ab bis Schwarzburg. „Diese zehn Kilometer gehören zu den schönsten Abschnitten des Panoramawegs“, meint Gunter. Und korrigiert sich sogleich: „Wobei: Eigentlich sind alle acht Etappen schön.“

Aussichtsreich, geschichtsreich

Wenn es einen Hauptort für die Schwarzataler Sommerfrische gab und gibt, dann hier. In DDR-Zeiten verbrachten in der Umgebung tausende ihre Ferien in historischen Sommerfrischehäusern. Ganz so hoch her geht es heute nicht mehr, aber mit Vorträgen, Musik- und Wanderangeboten sowie einem „Tag der Sommerfrische“ knüpft man an die goldenen Zeiten an. Apropos Geschichte. Friedrich Ebert unterzeichnete auf Schloss Schwarzburg am 11. August 1919 die Weimarer und somit erste demokratische Verfassung Deutschlands.

Das jahrhundertealte Schloss ist nach der Sanierung 2021 erst recht sehenswert, insbesondere der Kaisersaal und die über 5.000 Objekte umfassende Waffensammlung. Auch hübsch: Der Blick hinunter auf das Dorf und die den Burgfelsen umkurvende Schwarza. Und hui, was ist denn das Rote dahinten zwischen ausgedehnten Waldflächen und Wiesen? Die Werrmanns wissen Bescheid – „Die Fürstenkutsche!“ – und auch woher der Name kommt: „Mit Aufklebern, Infos und einem Quiz wird in der Schwarzatalbahn an die Fürsten von Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt erinnert.“

Hier wird die Zugreise zur Zeitreise

Im Stundentakt verbinden diese Züge acht Bahnhöfe – praktisch für Einheimische wie (Wander-)Reisende, die Kraft sparen wollen. Werrmanns Tipp: In Obstfelderschmiede aus- und in die Thüringer Bergbahn umsteigen, ein Identifikationssymbol für den Thüringer Wald. Und ein Rekordhalter. Mit 25 Prozent Steigung gilt die 1923 für den Personenverkehr eröffnete Standseilbahn als weltweit steilste zum Transport normalspuriger Eisenbahnwagen. Schade, dass die 17 Minuten hinauf nach Lichtenhain so schnell rum sind! Gute Nachricht jedoch: Nach einem Kurzbesuch im Maschinarium, das Einblick in die umwelt- und energiesparende Technik mit den beiden Wagen – einer davon fährt „oben ohne“ – gewährt, geht es auf der „Flachstrecke“ weiter.

Dort heißt es: Weitblick statt Talkulisse! In Cursdorf dann: Alle aussteigen! Zu Fuß erreichen wir in einer halben Stunde den 30 Meter hohen Fröbelturm, der eine Top-Aussicht über die „Höhendörfer“ gewährt. Errichtet wurde der „weiße Riese“ 1888 zu Ehren Friedrich Fröbels. Dem Erfinder des Kindergartens begegnet man, rein thematisch, ständig. Etwa in den Fröbelmuseen in Bad Blankenburg und Oberweißbach, seinem Geburtsort, im Fröbelwald samt XXL-Spielplatz und auf dem Fröbelwanderweg zwischen Bad Blankenburg und Keilhau.

Aufbruch zum Ursprung

Stichwort Wandern. Ein Highlight des Panoramaweges wollen wir unbedingt noch erlaufen: die an mäandernden Minibächen entlangführende Etappe von der Talsperre Scheibe-Alsbach zur Schwarzaquelle. Die liegt unterhalb des berühmten Rennsteigs, der auf den Kammhöhen des Thüringer Waldes verläuft. Die eingefasste Spaltquelle ist ein guter Ort, um sich erneut zu stärken. Und zu sinnieren: Was jenem gerade herausgesprudelten Wasser auf den 53 Kilometern bis zur Mündung in die Saale so widerfahren wird? Und: Was könnten wir heute noch Schönes erfahren?

Ein Abstecher zum Skulpturenpfad an der Trinkwassertalsperre Leibis/Lichte? Eine Stippvisite im „Haus der Natur“ in Goldisthal, das sicher nicht grundlos 2023 auf Platz zwei der beliebtesten Ausflugsziele in Thüringen gewählt wurde? Oder ab nach Katzhütte und via „Fürstenkutsche“ nach Rottenbach, dem „Bahnhof des Jahres 2020“! Erkenntnis vor Ort: Die Auszeichnung ist verdient, nicht nur in puncto denkmalgerechter Sanierung des Schmuckstücks, sondern auch wegen dessen innerer Werte. Der helle und moderne Bahn-Hofladen fungiert als Café, Bürgertreffpunkt und Minishop für regionale Produkte. Bei „Kaffee mit Satz“ und einem buttercremigen LPG-Kuchen hofft man geradezu, dass der Anschlusszug Richtung Erfurt Verspätung haben möge …

Olitätentradition
Vor rund 400 Jahren hat sich im Schwarzatal ein einzigartiges Gewerbe entwickelt, das sich der Herstellung von Olitäten widmet. Dabei sammelten kräuterkundige Frauen wildwachsende Bergschätze, aus denen Buckelapotheker kostbare Öle, Salben und Tinkturen kreierten, die sie auf dem Buckel durch die Lande trugen und verkauften. Und heutzutage? Da wird das Kräuterthema in Vorträgen, Kursen und Museen vermittelt – und im Olitätenwagen, der in den Sommermonaten auf der „Flachstrecke“ verkehrt.

 

 

Titelbild: ©Dominik Ketz, Regionalverbund Thüringer Wald e.V. 

Barrierefreiheit


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

landingpage_natur, markenbotschafter