We do bratwurst!

And holidays too, of course.

The first thing that springs to many people’s minds when they hear ‘Thuringia’ is Thuringian bratwurst. It is a must-try for many visitors and one of the top answers in surveys on what is ‘typically Thuringian’. The locals are very proud of their favourite sausage, which is famed across Germany and well beyond. We certainly do bratwurst, but do you know what we also do well in Thuringia? That’s right, holidays! From Altenburg to Eisenach and Sonneberg to Nordhausen, countless authentic and memorable experiences await. In Thuringia you can explore the great outdoors, immerse yourself in culture, discover hidden gems and enjoy local food. So, when will you visit?

Get some inspiration and find out for yourself what Thuringia has to offer. 

We look forward to your visit.

Let's have a Bratwurst with ...

Hey, the new livestream date is fixed. We have our grills running on April, 29th, 2022 from 07:30 p.m. See you!
Responsive Image

Five facts about Thuringian bratwurst

  1. Don't put ketchup on a Bratwurst
    A general rule that Thuringians grow up with is that you shouldn’t put ketchup on a bratwurst. A proper Thuringian eats it with mustard. Sure, every bratwurst stall will have a bottle of ketchup too, but locals will rarely reach for it.

  2. It's all a matter of taste
    While opinions on flavourings (herbs, caraway seeds, garlic) may vary from region to region, the whole of Thuringia can agree on one thing: a bratwurst is grilled over hot coals. An electric grill or – heaven forbid – a frying pan are a no-no, at least when it comes to the real thing.

  3. The Rennsteig Trail is the dividing line in bratwurst country
    To the south of the Rennsteig Trail, recipes do without whole caraway seeds, while to the north of this legendary route through the Thuringian Forest whole and ground caraway seeds are common.

  4. Broadwirschdle, Brodwurschd, Brahdwuaschd or Roster
    Just as Thuringian dumplings are called something different from region to region, the same is true of the Thuringian bratwurst. Depending on where you are, it’s called broadwirschdle, brodwurschd, brahdwuaschd or roster. 

  5. 15 - 100 - 600
    Those might not sound like the most promising vital statistics, but they are essential to identifying a genuine Thuringian bratwurst. For a start, it should be between 15 and 20 centimetres long and weigh 100 to 150 grams. Historical records show that these sausages have been enjoyed in Thuringia for centuries. In fact, all the way back to 1404, making the recipe over 600 years old.

 

The real Thuringia

Nature. Culture. Insider Tips.

A mediterranean lifestyle and a lively microcosm on a stroll around Erfurt

Erfurt can easily match Europe’s major cities in terms of culture, architecture and food and drink. Yet everything here feels more relaxed and sociable. The medieval city centre with its cafés, squares and narrow lanes has a pleasant mediterranean feel to it. One of the most beautiful sights is the Merchants’ Bridge, the longest bridge in Europe with houses along its entire length. Generations of merchants and artisans have lived and worked on this bridge, and continue to do so, making this a truly special place. Each house has its own tale to tell, of craftsmanship and creativity, and together they form a lively and innovative microcosm. But we’re getting carried away – you simply have to visit and find your own favourite place in this beautiful city. Erfurt offers plenty of soul in the heart of Germany.

    

 

Your must sees in Erfurt

 

Wonderful Weimar is a pocket-sized cultural hub

In Weimar, you can feel the weight of cultural and musical history and the avant-garde influence of the Bauhaus on every corner. You can also explore the legacy of geniuses and follow in the footsteps of Goethe and Schiller. Or stroll around regal parks and watch the sheep in Ilm Park ‘mow’ the lawn. It wouldn’t be the first time that visitors to Erfurt develop a deep passion for gardens. It was no different for Goethe, and anyone walking past his summer house on a sunny afternoon will be singing its praises. There’s just so much to take in on a visit to Weimar – from theatre and the arts to comedy and concerts – that it’s best to start planning many more visits to come…

Your must sees in Weimar

The many facets of the Thuringian Forest

Back in the time when the Thuringian Forest still lay beneath the sea, a hike along the Rennsteig Trail would have been more of a diving session. Today, some 250 million years later, a hike along Germany’s oldest and most popular long-distance walking route will captivate all the senses. Indeed you can still look out over a sea – of spruce, fir and beech trees – on the trail’s high vantage points. Far from the summertime heat of the big city, the forest promises tranquillity and relaxation. And while people flock to the forest during the summer months in search of cool shade, the region is transformed into a Christmas wonderland in winter. The small towns along the Rennsteig Trail have always been closely associated with the art of glassblowing. In fact, glass Christmas tree ornaments were first produced commercially in the town of Lauscha, and this tradition continues to this day.

 

Your must sees in the Thuringian Forest

The perfect combination to the bratwurst

This is simply part of Thuringia

Well? Work up on appetite?

Your favourite bratwurst stands in Thuringia

Naaa? Appetit bekommen?

Eure Lieblingsbratwurst-Stände in Thüringen

Hier geht´s um die Wurst!

Die Thüringer Rostbratwurst gilt als eine der berühmtesten Spezialitäten Deutschlands - deshalb hat sich der Freistaat die Original Thüringer Rostbratwurst bei der Europäischen Union auch als Markenzeichen schützen lassen. Mindestens 15 Zentimeter lang sollte sie sein und 100 bis 150 Gramm schwer. Die älteste Erwähnung einer solchen Bratwurst findet sich übrigens in einer Probstei-Rechnung des Arnstädter Jungfrauenklosters vom 20. Januar 1404. Am besten schmeckt die Wurst natürlich vom Holzkohlegrill, im Brötchen auf die Hand - und mit reichlich Senf.

Natürlich Bratwurst. Natürlich Thüringen!

5 Fakten zur Thüringer Bratwurst

  1. Don't ketchup a Bratwurst
    Eine Faustregel, mit der Thüringer quasi aufwachsen lautet: Don't ketchup a Bratwurst, denn der echte Thüringer isst sie mit Senf. Zwar findet man an jedem Bratwurststand auch Ketchup-Flaschen, doch Thüringer greifen nur selten danach.

  2. Die K-Frage
    Während man sich in der K-Frage (Kräuter, Kümmel, Knoblauch) von Region zu Region nicht immer einig ist, so gibt es doch in ganz Thüringen einen Konsens was die Zubereitung der Bratwurst betrifft. Diese wird traditionell über Kohle gegrillt. Elektrogrill oder gar Pfanne sind absolut verpönt – zumindest, wenn es um das Original geht.

  3. Rennsteig ist Bratwurstäquator
    Der Verlauf des Bratwurstäquators lässt sich gut merken: Südlich des Rennsteiges verzichtet man auf die Verwendung von ganzem Kümmel, nördlich des legendären Kammweges durch den Thüringer Wald verwendet man neben gemahlenem auch ganzen Kümmel.

  4. Broadwirschdle, Brodwurschd, Brahdwuaschd oder Roster
    So wie auch der Thüringer Kloß von Region zu Region unterschiedlich bezeichnet wird, ist es auch mit der Thüringer Rostbratwurst: Je nachdem, wo man sich gerade aufhält, ist die Rede von Broadwirschdle, Brodwurschd, Brahdwuaschd oder Roster. 

  5. 15 - 100 - 600
    Das klingt nicht gerade nach Traummaßen – aber für die Thüringer Rostbratwurst sind es wichtige Kennzahlen, um das Original zu erkennen. Sie ist circa 15 bis 20 Zentimeter lang und hat ein Gewicht von rund 100 bis 150 Gramm. Und der Blick in die Geschichte zeigt, dass man sie bereits seit Jahrhunderten in Thüringen genießt, genauer gesagt seit 1404. Damit ist die Rezeptur über 600 Jahre alt.

 

 

Neueröffnung Bratwurstmuseum

Bei Thüringen und Kulinarik denken viele Gäste sofort an die beliebte Thüringer Rostbratwurst. Dem Klassiker zu Ehren eröffnet ab dem 16. August 2023 in Mühlhausen das 1. Deutsche Bratwurstmuseum: Mit einer umfangreichen Dauerausstellung, bunter Themenwelt auf weitläufigem Gelände sowie rustikalem „Wursthaus“ und einer Außengastronomie hat alles rund um die Bratwurst seinen Platz.

 

Thüringens Originale

Natur. Kultur. Geheimtipps.

Mediterranes Lebensgefühl und ein quirliger Mikrokosmos - Stadtschlendern durch Erfurt

Erfurt kann mit europäischen Metropolen in Sachen Kultur, Architektur und Kulinarik locker mithalten. Und doch ist es hier irgendwie verträumter, entspannter, geselliger. Und während man die bekannten Sehenswürdigkeiten entdeckt, stößt man ganz zufällig auch auf eine weitere Facette der Stadt. Hier wimmelt es vor angesagten Eventlocations, Bars, Clubs und Foodie-Spots. Junge, kreative Erfurter erobern die Stadt mit ihren Ideen und machen sie zu einem quirlig-kreativen Mikrokosmos. Am Zughafen – ein alter Güterbahnhof – genießt man im Sommer das lokale Heimathafen Bier, im alten Speichergebäude mitten in der Innenstadt – kurz Speicher – trifft sich die junge Kulturszene und im KalifStorch startet die Elektro- und Hip-Hop-Crowd in die Nacht.

 

 

Deine 5 Must-See in Erfurt

 

Kulturmetropole im Taschenformat - Schillerndes Weimar


In Weimar atmet jede Ecke Kulturgeschichte, Musikgenuss oder die Avantgarde des Bauhauses. Hier kann man Genies begegnen und wandelt auf den Spuren von Goethe und Schiller. Oder man flaniert durch fürstliche Parks und schaut den Schafen im Ilmpark zu, wie sie den Rasen „mähen“. Es wäre nicht das erste Mal, dass Besucher der Kulturstadt akute Symptome von Gartenfieber entwickeln. Goethe ging es ja ganz ähnlich und wer an einem sonnigen Nachmittag an seinem Gartenhaus vorbei schlendert, der gerät mindestens ins Schwärmen. Aber so ist das bei einem Weltenbummel durch Weimar – und da sich in dieser charmanten Stadt Kunst und leichte Muse, Konzert und Theater, Ausstellung und Performances abwechseln, plant man nach dem ersten Besuch in Weimar am besten gleich den zweiten, dritten, vierten ….

Deine Must-Sees in Weimar

Einer für alles: Sommerfrische, Weihnachtsland, Bratwurstäquator – Der Thüringer Wald


Als der Thüringer Wald noch ein Meer war, wäre eine Wanderung auf dem Rennsteig eine Tauchtour gewesen. 250 Millionen Jahre später ist eine Tour auf Deutschlands ältestem und beliebtesten Fernwanderweg ein Genuss für alle Sinne. Und von hochgelegen Aussichtspunkten blickt man auch heute noch auf ein Meer – aus Fichten, Tannen und Buchen. Fernab der sommerlich aufgeheizten Großstadthektik findet man im Thüringer Wald Ruhe und Erholung. Und während im Sommer die sogenannten „Sommerfrischler“ die schattige Kühle im Wald suchen, verwandelt sich die Region im Winter in ein wahres Weihnachtsland. Die kleinen Orte entlang des Rennsteigs sind seit jeher eng mit der Glasbläserkunst verbunden. Lauscha ist sogar der Geburtsort des gläsernen Christbaumschmuckes und bis heute wird diese Tradition über Generationen hinweg gepflegt.

 

Deine 5 Must-See im Thüringer Wald

Die perfekte Kombination zur Bratwurst.

Das gehört in Thüringen einfach dazu.