A symphony with tractors

Stelzen bei Reuth Festival

The Stelzen Festival (stilt festival), held in the far south-east of Thuringia, may well be the quirkiest music festival in Germany. Every year, the latest version of the ‘agricultural machinery symphony’ kicks off a whole weekend of music interspersed with a generous helping of humour.

We should have spotted it earlier, as soon as we entered the festival barn: there, suspended from the ceiling in the middle of the huge space, is a milking machine that looks like a colossal chandelier. But the enormous contraption only lights up now, once two butterfly people on tall stilts have strutted gracefully down the aisle, accompanied by the strains of a saxophone. Suddenly the milking machine begins to flash and to move up and down, its milking gear swaying and rattling above the heads of the audience. It no longer looks like a chandelier, but rather like a giant remote-controlled octopus. A murmur goes through the barn, even though many here are likely to be familiar with this pretty unconventional instrument. It has been part of the orchestra that launches the Stelzen Festival in eastern Thuringia for many years now.

A whole village gripped by festival fever

The event has many regulars. Most arrive by Friday lunchtime, get André to assign them a space for their tent, caravan or camper van in the large field behind the festival barn, and then collect their tickets from Karola at the box office tent. It’s best to queue in pairs, as the line gets pretty long – that way one person can wander off to fetch some Thuringian bratwurst, or sandwiches from the local baker’s stall. Half the village comes to lend a hand at the Stelzen bei Reuth Festival. Although strictly speaking Reuth is just a neighbouring village of Stelzen, they tend to emphasise the ‘bei Reuth’ part of the ‘official’ name, in a rather cheeky reference to the much more famous festival in Bayreuth. 

This crossover music weekend has been running for 27 years now, during which time it has gained a true cult following, primarily among the over-forties. People know each other, this is their big meetup, they have picnics, form their own little enclaves in the festival field – and they all watch concerts together until Sunday night. The festival barn on the hill above Stelzen and the village church below provide the venues for musical performances and guest appearances, featuring everything from jazz, traditional German music and utterly offbeat pieces to more conventional classical music, with some works more tongue in cheek than others. Which doesn’t mean to suggest that the artists involved aren’t proper professionals.

Music among milking machine and slurry organ

The festival was founded by Henry Schneider from Zeulenroda-Triebes, who plays viola in Leipzig’s Gewandhaus Orchestra. Sporting a tailcoat and a shock of long, grey hair, he makes an entertaining compère for the agricultural machinery symphony, and he also joins in with most of the acts. The symphony itself is a medley of individual pieces featuring not only musicians from the Gewandhaus Orchestra, but also tractors, ploughs, milking machines, a slurry organ and many other weird and wonderful contraptions. Now and again, Henry, as he’s known to everyone here, has to cover for the odd small, endearing mishap. But perhaps some of those are scripted too, who can say. Experimentation is part and parcel of the symphony, as is the eclectic mix of styles.

Right now, a saxophone is playing – accompanied by the chugging of a tractor engine. No, seriously. Hayden Chisholm from New Zealand ‘conducts’ the tractor by giving the man behind the wheel instructions using hand signals. The tractor’s sound gets louder, then softer, repeats and then gently fades away. A breathless hush falls over the barn during the impressive piece, which runs the gamut from romantic to melancholic. These days, the agricultural machinery symphony is so successful it has to be performed twice. The early evening performance is full, but the one later that night is even fuller. The barn can accommodate around 1,000 people.

Whatever the musicians in Stelzen come up with is most definitely worth seeing – and hearing. Be it drumming on agricultural implements or shovelling gravel back and forth on stage, the whining of the slurry organ or someone playing a saw with a violin bow. Somewhere in between all that, car mechanic Gerald Kaiser from the Vogtland region, who taught himself to sing, is belting out arias from Italian operas with such feeling it almost brings tears to your eyes. He does it just because he can. And everyone loves him for it. This festival wouldn’t be half as good without the people from the region.

An all-round experience

And it also wouldn’t be the same without all the rituals and traditions that go with it: the festival-goers camping out, the food stalls, the beautiful panoramic views across the Vogtland region and the accompanying exhibitions. One firm fixture on the annual programme is the Friday night fireworks display, where everyone gathers after the second performance of the agricultural machinery symphony. But Stelzen wouldn’t be Stelzen if this event was listed merely as ‘fireworks’. No, at midnight, according to the official programme, there’s a performance of the ‘chief blaster’s night-time serenade’ on the hill. 

But we’re not quite there yet. The symphony has got pretty lively again now, and it’s time for the final choir. Just before, a few of the participants were wantonly scraping their violins as if they were circular saws. Now a group of hikers is giving their all as they’re performing the well-known German folk song ‘Waldeslust’. Clad in traditional outfits, the choir is increasingly drowned out by all manner of noises associated with modern civilisation, as well as a machine that is chopping and spewing out wooden logs live on stage. Henry Schneider is right in the thick of it all, as usual, playing his viola and launching helium balloons. The slurry organ is glowing. And the milking machine rattles one final time. That was probably inevitable. A humorous yet critical conclusion to a pretty exuberant evening. Time to link arms and sway along to the music.

Stelzen bei Reuth Festival, agricultural machinery symphony, romantic duet between saxophones and tractor engines ©Gregor Lengler, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

Das Lied vom Traktor

Stelzenfestspiele bei Reuth

Die Stelzenfestspiele ganz im Südosten Thüringens sind das vielleicht schrägste Musikfestival Deutschlands. Zum Auftakt wird jedes Jahr die Landmaschinensinfonie in einer neuen Version uraufgeführt. Über ein Wochenende, bei dem oft der Humor den Takt vorgibt.

Man hätte sie bemerken können, vorhin, gleich beim Betreten der Festspielscheune. Die Melkmaschine hängt in der Mitte des riesigen Raums oben an der Decke und sieht aus wie ein überdimensionaler Kronleuchter. Zu leuchten beginnt das etwas monströse Teil aber erst jetzt, nachdem zwei Schmetterlingsmenschen auf hohen Stelzen zu Saxophonklängen ziemlich anmutig durch die Zuschauerreihen gestakst sind. Die Melkmaschine blinkt plötzlich, fährt auf und nieder, die Melkzeuge zappeln und rappeln über den Köpfen der Zuhörer. Sieht jetzt übrigens nicht mehr wie ein Kronleuchter aus, sondern eher wie ein sehr großer, ferngesteuerter Krake. Ein Raunen geht durch die Scheune – obwohl viele dieses ungewöhnliche Musikinstrument bestimmt schon kennen. Es gehört seit vielen Jahren zum Orchester der Landmaschinensinfonie, die jedes Jahr in einer neuen Version zum Auftakt der Stelzenfestspiele im Osten Thüringens uraufgeführt wird.

Ein Dorf im Festival-Fieber

Das Event hat viele Stammgäste. Die meisten reisen schon am Freitagmittag an, lassen sich von André auf der großen Wiese hinter der Festivalscheune einen Platz fürs Zelt, den Caravan oder das Wohnmobil zuweisen und holen dann bei Karola im Kartenhäuschen ihre Tickets. Dort steht man am besten zu zweit an, denn die Schlange ist beeindruckend lang – und so kann einer schon mal Thüringer Bratwürste holen oder belegte Brötchen vom lokalen Bäcker. Das halbe Dorf packt nämlich mit an in Stelzen bei Reuth. Auf den hinteren Teil des Namens legt man wegen der Parallele zu Bayreuth natürlich Wert – Reuth ist aber genau genommen einfach nur das Nachbardorf von Stelzen.

Das Cross-over-Musikwochenende im Sommer gibt es schon seit 27 Jahren, längst hat es Kultcharakter, wenn auch eher für ein Publikum 40 plus. Man kennt sich, trifft sich, picknickt miteinander, baut auf der Festivalwiese kleine Wagenburgen – und geht bis Sonntagabend gemeinsam ins Konzert. In der Festspielscheune auf dem Hügel oberhalb von Stelzen und unten in der Dorfkirche gibt es musikalische Darbietungen und Gastspiele von Jazz über Volksmusik und komplett schräg bis hin zu Klassik, von denen einige mit einem Augenzwinkern vorgebracht werden. Was nicht heißt, dass da nicht echte Profis am Werk sind.

Klänge zwischen Melkmaschinen und Gülleorgel

Gegründet hat das Festival der Gewandhausbratschist Henry Schneider aus Zeulenroda-Triebes. Bei der Landmaschinensinfonie führt er mit grauer Wuschelmähne und im Frack nicht nur sehr kurzweilig durchs Programm, er spielt bei den meisten Programmpunkten auch mit. Die Sinfonie ist ein Potpourri aus Einzeldarbietungen, bei denen nicht nur Musiker des Leipziger Gewandhausorchesters, sondern eben auch Traktoren, Pflüge, Melkmaschinen, eine Gülleorgel und viele andere seltsame Gerätschaften ihren Auftritt haben. Ab und zu moderiert „der Henry“, wie ihn hier alle nennen, auch kleine, charmante Pannen. Aber vielleicht sind die sogar Programm. Wer weiß das schon. Das Experiment gehört ebenso zur Sinfonie wie der Stilmix.

Jetzt zum Beispiel spielt ein Saxophon – und der Traktor tuckert dazu. Kein Witz. Hayden Chisholm aus Neuseeland gibt dem Mann am Gaspedal klare Anweisungen per Handzeichen, er dirigiert quasi den Traktor: lauter, piano, da capo, leise ausklingen lassen. Bei diesem eindrucksvollen Stück, das romantisch bis melancholisch klingt, herrscht atemlose Stille in der Scheune. Die Landmaschinensinfonie ist mittlerweile so erfolgreich, dass es zwei Aufführungen gibt, eine am frühen Abend, die voll ist. Und eine am späten Abend, die noch voller ist. Die Scheune fasst etwa 1.000 Leute.

Aber es ist auch absolut sehens- und hörenswert, was den Musikern und Musikerinnen in Stelzen alles einfällt. Da wird auf landwirtschaftlichem Gerät getrommelt, im Takt Schotter auf der Bühne hin- und hergeschippt. Die Gülleorgel jault und der Bogen fiedelt auf einer Säge. Und zwischendurch singt noch KFZ-Mechaniker Gerald Kaiser, der aus dem Vogtland kommt und sich das Singen selbst beigebracht hat, italienische Arien, sodass einem fast die Tränen kommen. Kann er halt. Macht er dann auch. Und alle lieben ihn dafür. Dieses Festival wäre ohne die Menschen aus der Region nur halb so schön.

Mitschunkeln erlaubt

Und ohne das Drumherum: das zeltende Publikum, die Fressbuden auf dem Vorplatz, die wunderschöne Fernsicht über das Vogtland und begleitende Ausstellungen. Fester Programmpunkt ist freitagabends außerdem ein Feuerwerk, zu dem nach der zweiten Landmaschinensinfonie alle zusammenkommen. Und Stelzen wäre nicht Stelzen, wenn das Event als Feuerwerk angekündigt wäre. Nein, um 24 Uhr gibt’s am Berg laut Begleitheft: „Sprengmeisters Nachtgesang“.

Aber noch sind wir nicht ganz so weit, jetzt ist bei dieser mal wieder ziemlich wild gewordenen Sinfonie erst mal der Schlusschor dran. Eben haben ein paar Stelzener ziemlich mutwillig auf ihren Geigen herumgekratzt, als ob’s Kreissägen wären. Jetzt schmettert eine Gruppe von Wandersleuten das Volkslied Waldeslust. Die zünftig gekleideten Herrschaften werden aber zunehmend von allerlei Zivilisationsgeräuschen und einer Maschine, die live auf der Bühne Holzscheite schneidet und auswirft, übertönt. Henry Schneider ist mal wieder mittendrin, spielt Bratsche und lässt Gasluftballons steigen. Die Gülleorgel leuchtet. Und die Melkmaschine darf auch noch mal rappeln. Musste ja so kommen. Ein humorvoll-kritischer Schlusston an einem ziemlich ausgelassenen Abend. Es darf natürlich mitgeschunkelt werden.
 

Stelzenfestspiele bei Reuth, Landmaschinensinfonie, romantisches Duett zwischen Saxophonen und Traktormotoren ©Gregor Lengler, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?