Powerful words

Written language

Many colourful expressions in the German language that remain in common usage – such as Lästermaul (scandalmonger), nicht jedes Wort auf die Goldwaage legen (to take something with a pinch of salt), die Zähne zusammenbeißen (grit your teeth) or ein Dorn im Auge (a thorn in your side) – were actually invented by the same man who translated the New Testament at Wartburg Castle. Martin Luther exemplifies the power of words. Indeed, many of the phrases he coined are found in the Duden dictionary of the German language to this day.

On the subject of the eminent lexicographer Konrad Duden: he championed the idea of a unified German language and wrote his first ‘Duden’ in Thuringia. Thanks to these two men, we speak and write a common language here in Germany. You could say that, in many ways, Thuringia was the birthplace of a standardised German language.

Find out more about the poets, reformers and other wordsmiths who left their mark on Thuringia.

An interview with Rolf C. Hemke, artistic director of the Kunstfest Weimar arts festival

Weimar is a pocket-sized cultural hub

The Kunstfest Weimar arts festival is one of the town’s cultural highlights during the summer months. Internationally acclaimed artists join Weimar’s young, creative scene to transform its streets into a vibrant and inspiring stage. In this interview, the festival’s artistic director, Rolf C. Hemke, provides a fascinating look behind the scenes and also reveals which famous person from the past he would like to have coffee with.
Lutherdenkmal vor der Kaufmannskirche, Erfurt
Martin Luther’s Thuringian towns and cities

Words and places

Martin Luther’s longest trip took him all the way to Rome, but he was generally more likely to be found travelling around the towns and cities of Thuringia, where he filled the churches with his sermons, met friends, debated with religious opponents and visited monasteries. Here are some of our tips for days out in the heart of Reformation country at five important locations associated with Martin Luther in Thuringia.
Das Lutherhaus in Eisenach
From Wartburg Castle to the Luther House in Eisenach

How words changed world history

A truly historical location: the legendary Luther Room at the mighty Wartburg Castle, which has towered majestically above the Thuringian town of Eisenach for nearly a thousand years and attracts almost half a million visitors every year. This is where Martin Luther produced his translation of the New Testament in only eleven weeks, while he was in hiding under the alias of Squire George after being arrested 500 years ago.

Machtworte

Sprache lesen

Bei einem Lästermaul sollte man nicht jedes Wort auf die Goldwaage legen. Also Zähne zusammenbeißen, auch wenn es einem ein Dorn im Auge ist. Sprachbilder, Sprichwörter und Alliterationen, die allzu gut bekannt sind. Wer hat’s erfunden? Der Mann, der das Neue Testament auf der Wartburg übersetzte. Er sprach viele Machtworte oder besser gesagt, schrieb sie. Viele von Martin Luthers sogenannten geflügelten Wörtern stehen noch heute im Duden.

Apropos: Konrad Duden setzte sich für eine einheitliche deutsche Rechtschreibung ein und verfasste den ersten „Duden“ in Thüringen. Dank der beiden Herren sprechen und schreiben wir eine gemeinsame Sprache. In vielerlei Hinsicht kann Thüringen als Geburtsort einer einheitlichen, verständlichen deutschen Sprache verstanden werden.

Erfahrt hier mehr über Dichter, Reformatoren und Wortakrobaten, die in Thüringen ihre Spuren hinterließen.

Lutherdenkmal vor der Kaufmannskirche, Erfurt
Martin Luthers Städte in Thüringen

Worte und Orte

Seine weiteste Reise führt Martin Luther nach Rom, aber im Alltag ist er in den Thüringer Städten unterwegs. Dort füllt er bei seinen Predigten die Kirchen, trifft Freunde, diskutiert mit Glaubensgegnern und macht Klostervisitationen. Hier sind Ausflugstipps ins Herz der Reformation und zu fünf wichtigen Wirkungsorten Martin Luthers in Thüringen.
Ein Gespräch mit dem künstlerischen Leiter Rolf C. Hemke, Kunstfest Weimar

Weimar ist eine Kulturmetropole im Taschenformat

Das Kunstfest Weimar ist einer der kulturellen Höhepunkte des Weimarer Sommers. International gefeierte Künstler treffen auf die junge, kreative Szene der Stadt und verwandeln die Straßen Weimars in eine ebenso pulsierende wie inspirierende Bühne. Im Interview gibt der künstlerische Leiter des Festivals, Rolf C. Hemke, spannende Einblicke hinter die Kulissen und verrät nebenbei, mit welcher Berühmtheit vergangener Zeiten er gern einen Kaffee trinken würde.
Das Lutherhaus in Eisenach
Von der Wartburg ins Lutherhaus Eisenach

Wie aus Worten Weltgeschichte wurde

Jeder kennt sie: Die legendäre Lutherstube auf der Wartburg, die sich seit fast 1.000 Jahren majestätisch oberhalb der Thüringer Stadt Eisenach erhebt und jährlich knapp eine halbe Million Besucher in ihren Bann zieht. Hier versteckte sich Martin Luther nach seiner Gefangennahme vor 500 Jahren, um unerkannt, als „Junker Jörg“, in nur elf Wochen die Übersetzung des Neuen Testaments der Bibel zu erschaffen. ​​​​​Wie nebenbei erfahre ich vom Lutherhaus Eisenach und der Ausstellung „Luther und die Bibel“. Das klingt nach dem perfekten Ort, um meinen Wissensdurst zu stillen und die Antworten auf meine Fragen zu bekommen.