Christmas baking

The tradition of Thuringian stollen

When the dough, made from yeast and local flour, is kneaded together with all the other delicious ingredients, baked in the oven and left to mature, it tastes so good! As only the original stollen can. By that, we mean the stollen we know and love today.

And this is because, some 700 years ago, when stollen was first documented in Naumburg an der Saale, it was simply a fasting cake made from yeast, flour and water. But, over time, so many tasty things were added that the stollen turned from fasting staple to festive indulgence. 

What’s in a name?

Christmas in Thuringia wouldn’t be complete without stollen. In the Thuringian Forest, it is referred to as chrisamel, and the town of Suhl even dedicates an entire Christmas market to it ‒ the Chrisamelmart. Here, the town’s bakers sell this much-loved festive treat from a bakers’ hut in the market’s Christmas village.

In central Thuringia, stollen is known as scheitchen and in Erfurt schittchen. These names make reference to the small piece of wood or holzscheit that was used to give the stollen its characteristic indentation down the middle. There are more than 20 different names for stollen in the Thuringian dictionary.

It comes down to the ingredients

The ingredients in stollen are just as varied as the names for it. As you might expect, the local bakers keep all their recipes under wraps. However, the dough always contains butter, flour and dried fruit. And not forgetting almonds of course. The stollen society in Thuringia ensures that the ‘Thuringian Christstollen’ name can only be given to stollen that are baked exclusively in Thuringia to specified recipes. After passing a laboratory test and tasting by a panel of judges, the stollen may be considered an authentic Thuringian stollen for one season only.

Time to cut the cake!

Christmas markets up and down the country are usually opened with the aid of silverware: more specifically, a knife for the cutting of the stollen. The official cutting of the Erfurt stollen (or schittchen) takes place at Erfurt Christmas market on the first Sunday of advent in the presence of the bakers and patissiers from the Thuringian stollen society. The ceremonial cutting of the stollen is performed by the stollen queen. The Christmas market in Jena, meanwhile, is traditionally opened by the cutting of a giant, four-metre-long stollen. 

But if you’re in Germany and fancy an authentic Thuringian stollen, do not despair! At Christmas time you can buy this delicious cake at our Christmas markets, have them delivered directly to your door or pick them up – from the Roth bakery in Erfurt (click here for the shop), for example, or the Süpke bakery in Orlishausen (click here for the shop). Enjoy!

How to bake your own Thuringian stollen

Alternatively, you could try your hand at baking a Thuringian stollen at home. We have persuaded the stollen society of Thuringia and Erfurt to divulge a recipe for authentic Thuringian stollen. For more information on the society, please visit www.erfurter-schittchen.de

So, tie up your apron, put on some Christmas music, get your baking utensils ready, and off you go!

Ingredients

 1 kg  wheat flour type 405 or stollen flour
 200 g  granulated sugar
 500 g  butter or vegetable fat (min. 50% butter)
 15 g  table salt
 200 g  whole milk or water and powdered milk
 80-100 g  baker’s yeast
 550 g  sultanas
 200 g  candied lemon peel
 100 g  candied orange peel
 100-150 g  roasted almonds, slivered or chopped
As desired  spices (cinnamon, tonka bean, lemon, cloves, etc.)
 150 g  rum, min. 40%
 200 g  melted butter for brushing on the top
 150 g

 icing sugar for dusting

   vanilla sugar for dusting

 

Method

Before you start, soak the sultanas in rum for 24 hours. Make the yeast dough using 350g flour, the yeast and 200ml milk, and let it rest for approximately one hour at 30-33°C. Once ready, take the remaining ingredients (excluding the ingredients for dusting) and knead them into the dough. The sultanas should be added last and kneaded in with care. The dough should then be left to rest. After approximately two hours, shape into a loaf and use a knife to make a lengthways cut down the middle. Bake the stollen at 180-195°C for 50-60 minutes. Brush the stollen with butter while still hot, let it cool and then brush it a second time. Finally, dust the stollen with the icing sugar and vanilla sugar. 

Guten appetit!

Main picture: ©Meeta K. Wolff, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

kampagne_weihnachten

Von Schittchen und Chrisameln

In der Weihnachtsbäckerei

Sind erst einmal die leckeren Zutaten mit dem Teig aus Hefe und einheimischen Mehl zu einem gelungenen Ganzen geknetet, gebacken und danach gereift, dann wird’s richtig lecker. Aber nur im Original. Also dem Stollen aus jüngerer Geschichte.

Denn vor rund 700 Jahren, als in Naumburg an der Saale nachweislich erstmals Stollen gebacken wurde, war es lediglich ein aus Hefe, Mehl und Wasser hergestelltes Fastengebäck. Peu à peu aber kam – in das mit Staubzucker weiß gepuderte und in Form einem Brot ähnelndem Stück – so viel Gutes hinein, dass es zu einem Genuss ohnegleichen wurde.

Weihnachtsstollen, Schittchen und Chrisamel

Eines darf zum Weihnachtsfest bei uns in Thüringen nicht fehlen: der Stollen. Im Thüringer Wald nennt man ihn auch "Chrisamel" und widmet ihm in Suhl sogar einen ganzen Adventsmarkt. Den sogenannten Chrisamelmart. Die Bäcker der Stadt verkaufen hier das beliebte Gebäck gemeinsam in einer Bäckerhütte im Weihnachtsdorf des Marktes.

In der Mitte Thüringens heißt das Hefegebäck wiederum "Scheitchen" und in Erfurt ist er als "Schittchen" bekannt. Diese Bezeichnungen erinnern daran, dass der Stollen mit einem kleinen Holzscheit seine markante Mittelkerbe bekommen hat. Das Thüringische Wörterbuch weist über 20 verschiedene Namen für den Stollen auf.

Auf die Zutaten kommt's an

Ähnlich vielfältig wie bei der Namensgebung ist es mit den Zutaten beim Stollen. Die hiesigen Bäcker und Konditoren halten ihre Rezepte natürlich alle geheim. Butter, Mehl und Kuchenfrüchte gehören aber immer in den Teig. Und nicht zu vergessen die Mandeln. Der Thüringer Stollenschutzverband wacht zudem darüber, dass "Thüringer Christstollen" nur jene sein können, die nach diversen fixierten Rezepten ausschließlich in Thüringen entstanden sind. Nach bestandener Laboranalyse und Verkostung durch eine Jury darf sich der Testkandidat für eine Saison als echter "Thüringer Weihnachtsstollen" auszeichnen.

Bitte einmal anschneiden

Landauf, landab werden die Weihnachtsmärkte zumeist mit Besteck als Hilfsmittel eröffnet: und zwar mit einem Messer zum Stollenanschnitt. Am 1. Advent erfolgt auf dem Erfurter Weihnachtsmarkt im Beisein von Bäckern und Konditoren des Thüringer Stollenschutzverbandes der offizielle Anschnitt des Erfurter Schittchens. Die Stollenkönigin führt in adliger Manier den Schnitt durch. Auch der Weihnachtsmarkt in Jena öffnet seine Pforten traditionell mit dem Anschnitt eines 4 Meter langen Riesenstollens.

Ihr habt Hunger bekommen und wollt schnell an einen echten Thüringer Stollen kommen? Nicht verzagen, die guten Stücke findet ihr auf unseren Weihnachtsmärkten, könnt sie euch zur Weihnachtszeit nach Hause liefern lassen oder holt sie ab – von der Bäckerei Roth aus Erfurt (zum Shop) oder Bäcker Süpke aus Orlishausen (zum Shop) zum Beispiel. Wohl bekomm’s!

DIY: Rezept für Thüringer Stollen

Oder ihr backt euren Thüringer Weihnachtsstollen einfach selbst. Dafür haben wir dem Schutzverband Thüringer Weihnachtsstollen und Erfurter Schittchen e.V. ein Rezept für echten Thüringer Stollen entlockt. Mehr zum Verband erfahrt ihr hier: www.erfurter-schittchen.de

Dann bindet eure Backschürze um, legt weihnachtliche Musik auf, an die Rührschüsseln und los!

Zutaten

 1 kg  Weizenmehl Typ 405 oder Stollenmehl
 200 g  Kristallzucker
 500 g  Butter oder Pflanzenfett (mind. 50% Butter)
 15 g  Speisesalz
 200 g  Vollmilch oder Wasser und Milchpulver
 80-100 g  Backhefe
 550 g  Sultaninen
 200 g  Zitronat
 100 g  Orangeat
 100-150 g  geröstete Mandeln, gestiftelt oder gehackt
 nach Belieben  Gewürze (Zimt, Tonkabohne, Zitrone, Nelken etc.)
 150 g  Rum, mind. 40%
 200 g  Butter oder Butterschmalz, flüssig, zum Bestreichen
 150 g

 Puderzucker zum Bestäuben

 etwas  Vanillezucker zum Bestäuben


Zubereitung

Bevor es losgeht, die Sultaninen für 24h in Rum einlegen. Aus 350g Mehl, der Hefe und 200ml Milch den Vorteig (Hefestück) bereiten und ca. 1h bei 30-33°C ruhen lassen. Danach die restlichen Zutaten (ohne die Zutaten zum Bestreichen und Bestäuben) in den Vorteig unterkneten. Die Sultaninen werden zuletzt vorsichtig eingeknetet. Der Teig muss für ca. 2h ruhen. Den Teig in Form eines Brotlaibes bringen und längst mit einem Messer einschneiden. Der Stollen wird für 50-60 Minuten bei 180-195°C gebacken. Den noch heißen Stollen mit Butter(-schmalz) bestreichen, abkühlen lassen, wieder bestreichen und zum Schluss ordentlich mit beiden Zuckersorten zuckern.

 Guten Appetit!

Titelbild: ©Meeta K. Wolff, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

kampagne_weihnachten