Of miners and fairies

Saalfeld Fairy Grottoes

The sun is shining, the backpacks and sturdy shoes are ready to go. This weekend, we’ve got a leisurely family outing planned. We’re off to Saalfeld, to the Fairy Grottoes World of Adventure, and we’re getting quite excited about it.

As we enter the Fairy Grottoes Park, we soon realise that there will be plenty to see and do today. There’s the Fairy Grottoes visitor mine, the Grottoneum interactive museum and the Feenweltchen Adventure Forest. They also have an adventure playground and a woodland discovery trail, as well as places to eat and souvenir shops, of course.

Hidden marvels deep inside the mountain

It’s hard to decide what to do first, but then we find ourselves at the entrance to the visitor mine. The guide welcomes us with a cheerful “Glück auf”, the traditional miners’ greeting. We pick up some protective capes and then we’re off below ground. Deep inside the mountain we find narrow passages and any number of colourful dripstone formations. Some of these reminded the first people who discovered them of delicate fairy hair – and that’s how the grottoes got their name. Our guide tells us about the life and work of the miners who used to dig for ore and other valuable types of rock down here. Then our tour takes us to the most beautiful part of the Fairy Grottoes, known as the Fairytale Cathedral, which contains the largest and oldest dripstones. There is so much to see that we don’t know where to look first. Then suddenly the lights go off and there’s music playing as the grotto is bathed in different colours. We enjoy the spectacular light show and emerge from the mountain utterly enchanted.

Hands-on exploration

We soon get used to the sunlight again and are ready for more action. The grotto guide has piqued our interest, so we head to the Grottoneum to find out more about the caves and about mining. This interactive museum has living, talking stones, a grotto cinema and much more besides. In the summer, you can also go on a treasure hunt outside, and try your hand at operating a water wheel. 

Enchanted otherworld

There are plenty of amazing places to play and have fun in the Feenweltchen Adventure Forest, both for kids and for adults. We enter into the realm of the mythical forest folk through the magical fairy gate, and we’re in luck: we actually meet a fairy who accompanies us for a while along the winding paths. Amid the leafy surroundings, we keep discovering exciting stops: bizarre climbing frames, lovely tales of fairies and nature spirits, touch and smell boxes, a fairy xylophone and even a giant marble run. While the little ones are in their element, the adults get a chance to relax for once and enjoy the nature. We put down our backpacks and have a bit of a rest before we come to the end of our trip to this fairytale world. 

Looking forward to our return

For our grand departure, we exit via the magic slide from the tree-top fairy castle. It’s the end of a thoroughly enjoyable day, and we are quite certain that we’ll be back! We have been hugely impressed with the many delightful attractions and we set off home with a lingering feeling of enchantment, and armed with suitable souvenirs, of course! 

©Florian Trykowski, Regionalverbund Thüringer Wald e.V.


Did you like this story?

landingpage_geheimtipp

Bei Bergmann und Fee

Saalfelder Feengrotten

Die Sonne scheint, der Rucksack ist gepackt und die bequemen Schuhe stehen bereit. Für das Wochenende haben wir nämlich einen entspannten Familienausflug geplant: Wir fahren nach Saalfeld in die Erlebniswelt Feengrotten und sind schon gespannt, was auf uns wartet.

Am Eingang wird uns schnell klar, dass wir heute so Einiges sehen werden. Im Feengrottenpark gibt es das Schaubergwerk Feengrotten, das Erlebnismuseum Grottoneum und den Abenteuerwald Feenweltchen. Außerdem einen Abenteuerspielplatz, einen Walderlebnispfad und natürlich auch gastronomische Angebote und Souvenirläden.

Wunder tief im Berg

Wir können uns nur schwer entscheiden, wo wir beginnen, stehen dann aber zuerst vor dem Eingang zum Schaubergwerk. Mit dem traditionellen Bergmannsgruß „Glück auf“ empfängt uns der Grottenführer. Wir bekommen Schutzumhänge und dann geht es auch schon unter Tage. Tief im Berg erwarten uns schmale Wege und unzählige bunte Tropfsteingebilde. Manche von ihnen erinnerten die Entdecker einst an feines Feenhaar – so kamen die Grotten zu ihrem märchenhaften Namen. Unser Guide erzählt uns vom Leben und der Arbeit der Bergleute, die hier früher nach Erzen und anderen Gesteinen suchten. Unsere Tour führt uns auch zum schönsten Teil der Feengrotte – dem sogenannten Märchendom. Hier sind die größten und ältesten Tropfsteine zu bewundern. Wir können uns kaum satt sehen, bis plötzlich das Licht ausgeht und Musik ertönt. Die Grotte wird in unterschiedliche Farben getaucht. Wir genießen das Lichtspektakel und kommen ganz verzaubert aus dem Berg heraus.

Anfassen und Entdecken

Schnell gewöhnen wir uns wieder an das Sonnenlicht und sind voller Tatendrang. Der Grottenführer hat uns neugierig gemacht und so machen wir uns auf zum Grottoneum, um mehr über die Höhlen und den Bergbau zu lernen. Hier im Erlebnismuseum gibt es sogar lebendige und sprechende Steine, ein Grottenkino und vieles mehr. Im Sommer kann man draußen außerdem auf Schatzsuche gehen und sich an einem Schöpfrad probieren.

Verzauberte Anderswelt

Weitere tolle Spielmöglichkeiten für die Kinder, aber auch für Erwachsene, finden wir im Abenteuerwald Feenweltchen. Über die magische Feenpforte gelangen wir in die Welt der Naturgeister und haben heute tatsächlich Glück: Wir treffen auf eine Fee, die uns ein Stück auf den verschlungenen Pfaden begleitet. Mitten im Grünen entdecken wir überall Stationen, an denen es etwas zu Erleben gibt: Ausgefallene Kletterkonstrukte, wunderschöne Geschichten über Feen- und Naturwesen, Riech- und Fühlkästen, ein Feen-Xylophon und sogar eine riesige Murmelbahn. Während die Kleinen ihren Spaß haben, können die Erwachsenen auch mal die Natur genießen. Wir setzen unsere Rucksäcke ab und entspannen uns noch einen Moment, bevor unser Ausflug in diese märchenhafte Welt auch bald endet.

Wiedersehen macht Freude

Einen tollen Abgang machen wir im wahrsten Sinne über die Zauberrutsche des Feenwipfelschlosses. Ein rundum gelungener Tag geht zu Ende und für uns steht fest: Wir kommen wieder! Die FEEnomenalen Attraktionen haben Eindruck hinterlassen und wir machen uns ganz verzaubert – natürlich mit passenden Souvenirs – auf den Heimweg.

Feenwipfelschloss im Feenweltchen ©Florian Trykowski, Regionalverbund Thüringer Wald e.V.


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

landingpage_geheimtipp