Of wishes and dishes

The Saale Cycle Route – from dramatic to idyllic

A lucky skywalk, party time by the river and a night in a shiny caravan – all this and more awaits along the Saale Cycle Route.

What should we wish for? World peace? A cappuccino and a slice of cake? A hot Thuringian bratwurst slathered in mustard? A car, a house, a boat? Or maybe just plenty of sunshine over the next two days? More money? Or perhaps more time would be better? Definitely good health, that’s the most important thing. I think we can all agree on that.

©Joachim Negwer, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

There’s plenty of time to think when you’re pushing your bike, and there’s plenty of pushing on the last stretch from the Saale valley up to Leuchtenburg Castle. It sits in splendour on a rock high above the little town of Kahla and makes for a worthwhile detour on our bike trip along the Saale Cycle Route. The castle’s Porcelain Worlds exhibition relates the history of porcelain in an engaging and entertaining way. For centuries, the ‘white gold’ played an important role in Thuringia’s development. The valley below is home to the Kahla porcelain factory, which still produces fine tableware today. Up here within the historical walls of the old castle, there is also a whole host of things to discover on that subject: the world’s largest vase, an interactive exhibition where children can experiment with mixing the basic materials for making porcelain, an archive of wishes, a scriptorium and the skywalk of wishes. One might say this is a place where you can explore your wishes and make them come true. 

At the entrance to the scriptorium, there’s a quote from Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, perceptive as always and with an unerring eye for what’s important: “Our wishes are presentiments of the abilities that lie in us, harbingers of what we will be able to accomplish.”

Picture the scene: down in the castle’s cellars, there’s a large pile of white plates. There are also three booths that look a bit like the ones in which you cast your vote at election time. Each has a dark curtain that you can pull across to keep out prying eyes. Inside, the only illumination comes from a UV lamp above, and there are pens that write in ink you can only see under this light.

©Guido Werner, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

So I write my wish on a plate and head back into the daylight. Once outside, the plate is plain white again, and nobody can read what I’ve written on it. We stride out onto the skywalk of wishes, which extends beyond the castle walls and out over the Saale valley. I hold my plate, concentrate on my wish and … fling the plate into the valley. It crashes onto the large heap of porcelain that has accumulated down below and shatters into a hundred pieces. According to German folklore, broken crockery brings you luck, so we should be fine from now on.

©Stephan Preißler, Stiftung Leuchtenburg

We are riding along the Saale Cycle Route. Our starting point this morning was Rudolstadt, and our destination this evening is Jena, the lively student city on the river Saale – a mere 40 kilometres away. That would probably take just over two hours with a bit of effort, but we prefer to take it easy. We’ll allow time for a stroll around town, to visit the odd museum and maybe enjoy a cappuccino or two. The day started well in Rudolstadt. Heidecksburg Palace, a large, yellow building, towers above the town’s small market square. Widely regarded as the grandest 18th century baroque palace in the Free State of Thuringia, it is well worth a visit. There are exhibitions throughout the year, including the permanent ‘Rococo en miniature’ display featuring several palaces at a scale of 1:50, a portrait gallery, a porcelain showroom and a museum of natural history. 

©Marcus Glahn, Schatzkammer Thüringen

The Saale Cycle Route runs from the source of the river Saale in Zell im Fichtelgebirge to its confluence with the Elbe near Magdeburg, crossing several states and covering more than 400 kilometres. The longest and most beautiful stretch of the route is in Thuringia, starting in the Thuringian Slate Mountains/Upper Saale region. Many of the climbs here are quite literally breathtaking, perfect for more ambitious cyclists and those with electric bikes. Along the route lie the Saale reservoirs and pretty towns like Blankenburg, Saalburg, Saalfeld, Rudolstadt and Jena, to name but a few. After Saalfeld the route becomes easier and is quite suitable for families as well. Although you still have to tackle the odd ascent, it’s nowhere near as challenging as the Upper Saale section.

We’d been able to see Leuchtenburg Castle up ahead in the distance for a while, but near Orlamünde, where the cycle route runs along a plateau on the opposite side of the Saale, it made for a particularly beautiful sight. Just before Kahla the route drops steeply until it reaches the river. The water tourers’ rest area on the riverbank is a perfect place to stop off.

©Jens Hausprung, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

The Saale Cycle Route is well signposted throughout. It mostly follows cycle paths away from the road, or small, quiet back roads. We cycle through fields and forests, past beautifully kept allotments and through tiny villages with cute names like Kleinkrossen, Grosspürschütz and Kleineutersdorf. We rarely see the Saale river up close today, but we often catch glimpses of it through the bushes and trees as we savour summer with all of our senses.

©Moritz Kertzschner, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

We soon realise that despite being a hub of industry and a university city, Jena is also very green. The Saale Cycle Route first takes us through a large Soviet-era housing estate in Lobeda on Jena’s southern edge, but this is soon followed by a long stretch of green in Seidel Park, and then on across the city centre to a picturesque riverbank with beach-like areas on the water’s edge in the northern part of the city. It looks like there’s a bit of a party going on here, making the most of this summer’s day. Some guys have got their guitars out and are playing music, while elsewhere people are playing, laughing and having barbecues. How about a short stop here? With a cappuccino and a slice of cake perhaps? Or maybe we can go dangle our feet in the river and daydream for a bit? On the other side of the river we can see the lights on the JenTower.

Today’s destination isn’t much further. We’re heading for the campsite near Ostbad, where you can find what is probably the quirkiest accommodation around: the Airstream-Hotel Jena. Here you can spend the night in lovingly and expertly restored examples of that legendary American caravan. The campsite itself is also worth a visit. It might be relatively basic, but it sits in a quiet spot with lovely views of Jenzig hill. And the owners are very creative, charming and welcoming. 

©Joachim Negwer, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

So what are we going to do this evening? Dinner at Scala, the fancy restaurant at the top of the JenTower with great views over the city? Perhaps followed by a nightcap in one of the restaurants and bars in lively Wagnergasse? Or maybe we’ll just take in the vistas from the viewing platform, grab a Thuringian bratwurst and spend a quiet evening on the terrace of our Airstream caravan? Which one of our wishes will come true this evening, I wonder?

The Saale Cycle Route – from dramatic to idyllic
The route runs for 403 kilometres from the source of the river Saale in the Fichtel Mountains to its confluence with the Elbe in Barby near Magdeburg. A 180-kilometre stretch passes through Thuringia. Places of interest along the way include Burgk Castle, the Fairy Grottoes in Saalfeld, the Porcelain Worlds exhibition at Leuchtenburg Castle, the Zeiss Planetarium in Jena and the Dornburg Palaces.

 

 


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

zielgruppe_sehnsucht,landingpage_natur,landingpage_geheimtipp

Mit Wünschen radeln

Saaleradweg - mal wild, mal verträumt

Ein Skywalk als Glücksbringer, Partystimmung am Fluss und eine Nacht im glänzenden Wohnwagen – so kann es gehen. Mit dem Rad an der Saale unterwegs.

Was sollen wir uns wünschen? Den Weltfrieden? Einen Cappuccino und Streuselkuchen? Oder: eine frische Thüringer Bratwurst mit ganz viel Senf? Ein Auto, ein Haus, ein Schiff? Oder einfach: richtig viel Sonne für die nächsten zwei Tage? Mehr Geld? Oder vielleicht doch besser mehr Zeit? In jedem Fall Gesundheit, das ist das Wichtigste. Da sind wir uns einig.

©Joachim Negwer, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Beim Fahrradschieben fällt das Nachdenken noch ein bisschen leichter – und es gibt viel zu schieben auf dem letzten Stück des Weges vom Saaletal hinauf zur Leuchtenburg. Die thront hoch über dem Städtchen Kahla auf einem Felsen und ist ein kleiner, aber lohnenswerter Abstecher auf unserer Radroute durchs Saaletal. Die Porzellanwelten dort oben erzählen auf spielerische Art die Geschichte des weißen Goldes, das für Thüringen über Jahrhunderte prägend war. Unten im Tal stehen die Kahla Porzellanwerke, in denen nach wie vor feines Geschirr produziert wird. Und hier oben, in den historischen Mauern der alten Burg, gibt’s einige Superlative zum Thema: die größte Vase der Welt, eine lebendige Ausstellung, in der Kinder die Grundstoffe für Porzellan selbst mischen können, das Archiv der Wünsche, ein Skriptorium oder den Skywalk der Wünsche. Das ist eine Manufaktur zur Erkundung und Erfüllung von Wünschen – wenn man so will.

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe wird schon gleich am Eingang zum „Skriptorium“ zitiert – wie immer weise und mit Blick aufs Wesentliche: „Unsere Wünsche sind Vorgefühle der Fähigkeiten, die in uns liegen, Vorboten desjenigen, was wir zu leisten imstande sein werden (...)“

Das darf man sich etwa so vorstellen: Unten, im Keller der Burg, liegt ein großer Berg weißer Teller. Außerdem gibt es drei kleine Zellen, die ein bisschen aussehen wie Wahlkabinen. Man kann den dunklen Vorhang zuziehen und ist so vor neugierigen Blicken geschützt. In den Kabinen ist die Beleuchtung minimal, dafür strahlt von oben Schwarzlicht. Stifte liegen bereit, deren Schrift nur hier drin zu lesen ist.

©Guido Werner, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Also: Wunsch auf den Teller schreiben – dann raus ans Tageslicht. Dort ist der Teller wieder blendend weiß – niemand kann lesen, was drauf steht. Wir gehen auf den Skywalk der Wünsche, einen Steg, der vom Burghof aus weit über das Saaletal ragt. Teller nehmen, ganz fest an den Wunsch denken, und ... weit ins Tal werfen. Der Teller kracht auf den großen Porzellan-Berg, der sich tief unten schon angesammelt hat, und zerspringt in hundert Scherben. Aber die bringen ja bekanntlich Glück. Kann also nichts mehr schief gehen.

©Stephan Preißler, Stiftung Leuchtenburg

Wir sind mit dem Rad auf dem Saaleradweg unterwegs. Startpunkt heute Morgen war Rudolstadt, unser Ziel am Abend ist Jena, die lebendige Studentenstadt an der Saale – das sind 54 Kilometer. Die Strecke lässt sich gut in etwa 3 Stunden bewältigen, wir wollen uns aber vielmehr Zeit lassen für genießerische Stadtbummel, Museumsbesuch und den einen oder anderen Cappuccino. Das fing schon gleich gut an in Rudolstadt. Die riesige gelbe Heidecksburg liegt hoch über dem kleinen Marktplatz und ist in jedem Fall einen Besuch wert. Sie gilt als das prachtvollste Barockschloss des 18. Jahrhunderts im Freistaat Thüringen. Es gibt das ganze Jahr über interessante Ausstellungen, zum Beispiel die Dauerschau „Rococo en miniature“, in der mehrere Schlösser im Maßstab 1:50 nachgebaut sind, außerdem eine Gemälde- und Porzellan-Galerie und ein Naturhistorisches Museum.

©Marcus Glahn, Schatzkammer Thüringen

Der Saaleradweg führt in seiner ganzen Läge auf mehr als 403 Kilometern durchs Land, von der Quelle in Zell im Fichtelgebirge bis zu ihrer Mündung in die Elbe in der Nähe von Magdeburg. Der größte und schönste Teil davon zieht sich durch Thüringen. Er führt durch ganz unterschiedliche Landschaften, zuerst durch die Region Thüringer Schiefergebirge/ Obere Saale mit vielen und zum Teil im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes atemberaubenden Steigungen. Bestens geeignet für sportliche Radler oder für E-Biker. Man kommt an den Saale-Stauseen vorbei und fährt durch schöne Städtchen wie Blankenburg, Saalburg, Saalfeld, Rudolstadt oder Jena, um nur ein paar Beispiele zu nennen. Ab Saalfeld wird die Radstrecke einfacher, ab hier ist der Saaleradweg auch für Familien gut geeignet. Es gibt zwar auch immer wieder ein paar Ups and Downs, aber längst nicht mehr so anstrengende Strecken wie im Bereich der oberen Saale.

Die Leuchtenburg hatten wir schon eine ganze Weile im Blickfeld, besonders schön und lang bei Orlamünde, dort, wo der Saaleradweg auf der Hochebene auf der anderen Seite der Saale führt. Kurz vor Kahla geht es dann steil bergab zur Saale hinunter. Am Rastplatz für Wasserwanderer hat man eine gute Gelegenheit für eine Pause direkt am Saale-Ufer.

©Jens Hausprung, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Der Saaleradweg ist durchgängig bestens ausgeschildert. Er führt meist auf speziellen Radwegen abseits der Straßen oder auf kleinen, wenig befahrenen Nebenstrecken. Wir radeln durch Felder, Wälder, vorbei an idyllischen Schrebergärten und durch winzige Dörfer, die nette Namen haben, wie Kleinkrossen, Großpürschütz oder Kleineutersdorf. Heute sehen wir unterwegs die Saale selten aus der Nähe, oft allerdings schimmert sie durch Büsche und zwischen Bäumen hindurch. Man sieht, fühlt und riecht den Sommer.

©Moritz Kertzschner, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Dass Jena nicht nur eine Studentenstadt und ein Industrierevier, sondern auch eine grüne Stadt ist, das merken wir schnell. Entlang der Saale mit vielen idyllischen Uferstreifen erreichen wir schließlich die grüne Oase der Stadt, den Paradies Park. Hier erholen wir uns von unserer Radtour in der Beach Bar Strand 22 bei wunderbaren Ambiente. Hier herrscht Partystimmung an diesem Sommertag. Ein paar Jungs haben die Gitarren ausgepackt und machen Musik. Es wird gegrillt, es wird gespielt und gelacht. Wie wär’s hier mit einer kleinen Pause? Cappuccino und Streuselkuchen vielleicht? Oder doch lieber unten am Fluss die Füße ins Wasser hängen und ein bisschen träumen? Auf der anderen Seite drüben leuchtet der Jentower.

Das Ziel für heute ist nicht mehr weit, wir wollen auf den Campingplatz beim Ostbad, denn dort gibt es die wahrscheinlich originellste Unterkunft der Stadt: das Airstream-Hotel Jena. Hier übernachtet man in mit viel Liebe und Sachverstand restaurierten Exemplaren der amerikanischen Wohnwagen-Legenden. Der Campingplatz an und für sich ist schon einen Abstecher wert. Er ist zwar ganz einfach, liegt aber schön ruhig, mit Blick auf den Jenzig, den Hausberg Jenas. Und die Betreiber sind einfallsreich, sehr charmant und herzlich.

©Joachim Negwer, Thüringer Tourismus GmbH

Und was machen wir nun heute Abend? Jena bei einem Ausblick von oben genießen – bei einem Besuch des JenTowers? Und hinterher noch einen Absacker in einem der Restaurants und Bars in der quirligen Wagnergasse? Oder nur den tollen Ausblick auf der Aussichtsplattform genießen, dann eine Thüringer Bratwurst auf die Hand – und einen ruhigen Abend auf der Terrasse unseres Airstream-Wohnwagens? Welcher Wunsch geht heute noch in Erfüllung? www.saaleradweg.de

Der Saaleradweg – mal wild, mal verträumt
Die gesamte Radstrecke ist 403 Kilometer lang und führt von der Quelle im Fichtelgebirge bis zur Elb-Mündung in Barby bei Magdeburg. Auf 180 Kilometern verläuft der Saaleradweg durch Thüringen. Sehenswürdigkeiten am Weg sind zum Beispiel Schloss Burgk, die Feengrotten in Saalfeld, die Porzellanwelten auf der Leuchtenburg, das Zeiss-Planetarium in Jena und die Dornburger Schlösser.

 

 


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

zielgruppe_sehnsucht,landingpage_natur,landingpage_geheimtipp