The Sistine Chapel of the North

The Panorama Museum in Bad Frankenhausen

Many visitors are engrossed in conversations as they slowly ascend the 80 steps to the hall where the painting is displayed. They feel they already know what to expect, as the clue to the museum’s content is in the name: Panorama Museum. But once they reach the last set of steps they suddenly pause – they’ve caught their first glimpse of the actual painting.

When they finally get to the visitors’ platform of the panorama hall it’s not just the children’s eyes that suddenly widen in awe, as reverent murmurs of “ah” and “oh” fill the picture dome. For a few seconds they just stand there and let their gaze wander until they have turned full circle and taken in the whole of the painting – the panoramic view. The picture’s visual impact, created by its vivid colours and the huge number of figures featured, pretty much forces some people to avail themselves of the soft leather seats in the hall, where they sit in rapt silence as they examine the panorama once again. This is something that Silke Krage, who has been working at the museum for 32 years, notices time and again when taking visitors on a guided tour.

“Finally painting to your heart’s content”

She herself also continues to be fascinated by the monumental painting, which uses the stylistic language of the old masters to depict more than 3,000 individual figures on 1,722 square metres of canvas. For Werner Tübke, who created the panoramic picture, this commission presented a unique opportunity to finally paint to his heart’s content. He’d often felt that he reached the edge of a canvas far too quickly, as he used to explain. 

A monumental undertaking

Before tackling the actual painting in the panoramic hall, Tübke, an art professor and principal of Leipzig’s Academy of Fine Arts, created a smaller preliminary version on a scale of 1:10. The outlines of all the figures were meticulously copied from this template and transferred to the canvas in the hall, magnified by a factor of ten. The untreated canvas weighed almost a ton, took 54 men to hoist up, and is fixed to a steel ring at a height of over 15 metres using 576 metal clamps. At the bottom it is attached to a ring of similar size, meaning that it is freely suspended within the space and not attached to the building itself. The installation was an incredible technical feat, as was the extremely precise transposition of the original version (a panel painting) onto the 123 metre long circular canvas.  

It took Werner Tübke and his assistants more than four years to create his magnum opus, which ended up weighing just under three tons.

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Contemporary figures from the Peasants’ War and representatives of humanism are gathered around the well of fertility and immortality, symbolised by the pomegranate rising up from the surface of the water (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

“It will either be a work of genius, or we’ll all make fools of ourselves”

Accepting the commission from the East German government was not without risk for Tübke. In 1978, one year before the final selection of the images was settled, he remarked: “It will either be a work of genius or we’ll all make fools of ourselves, not just me.” The fact that the Panorama Museum, which opened in September 1989, not only survived the political upheaval of German reunification unscathed but went on to be awarded the European Heritage Label in 2011, is testament to Tübke’s achievement. 

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Klerus - Corrupt and profligate: high-ranking representatives of the clergy receive a drubbing (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

Landarmut - Homeless people on the move? The group is travelling in winter with a heavily pregnant woman and children (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

Theatrum mundi – a theatre of the world

Originally conceived as a panorama of the Peasants’ War that would simply illustrate the battle of 14 and 15 May 1525, the work gradually evolved into a theatrum mundi – a theatre of the world – that takes viewers on a journey into the past. The magnificent picture cycle shows European cultural history on the cusp of the late Middle Ages and the modern age, with references to masterpieces by Bosch, Breughel, Dürer, Cranach and many more. Immersion in this imagery with its allusions to religion, history, mythology, philosophy and literature reveals a kaleidoscope of human passions that still exist today, and will continue to do so as long as we remain on this earth and are free to make our own choices.

One piece of advice: trust your eyes, heart and mind. And ideally bring a pair of opera glasses or better still binoculars to support the first! 

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Verkündigung - There’s a crack in the world – inside the earth is still a disc (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

Titelbild: The blue-coloured area spreads across the summer landscape like an ink stain. It is based on the prophesies of Jeremiah ©Rainer Alexander Gimmel, Nürnberg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021


Did you like this story?

kampagne_weltkultur

Die Sixtina des Nordens

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Im Plauderton ins Gespräch vertieft, erklimmen die meisten Besucher gemächlichen Schrittes die 80 Stufen zum Bildsaal des Panorama Museums. Sie wissen ja, was sie erwartet, denn der Name des Museums offenbart dessen Inhalt – ein Panorama. Doch bereits auf dem letzten Treppenabsatz verharren sie kurz – die ersten gemalten Quadratmeter werden sichtbar.

Auf der Besucherplattform des Panoramasaales dann endlich angekommen, weiten sich nicht nur Kinderaugen zu staunenden Blicken und ein raunendes, ehrfürchtiges „Ah“ und „Oh“ schallt durch den Bilddom. Sekundenlang stehen sie einfach nur da und lassen den Blick solange schweifen bis sie sich um ihre eigene Achse gedreht haben und nun tatsächlich das Panorama – den Rundumblick – wahrgenommen haben. Die visuelle Wucht des Bildes, die sich durch die intensiven Farben und unzähligen Gestalten manifestiert, „zwingt“ viele auf die weichen Ledersitze im Saal, um in andächtiger Stille ein weiteres Mal das Panorama in Augenschein zu nehmen. Diese Beobachtungen macht Silke Krage, seit mittlerweile 32 Jahren im Museum tätig, immer wieder, wenn sie Gäste während einer Führung betreut. 

„Sich endlich mal ausmalen“

Und auch sie ist immer wieder aufs Neue fasziniert vom Monumentalgemälde, das auf 1722 Quadratmetern über 3.000 Einzelfiguren in altmeisterlicher Formensprache zeigt. Für Werner Tübke, den Schöpfer dieses Panoramabildes, bot sich bei diesem Auftragswerk die einmalige Chance, sich endlich einmal richtig „auszumalen“, denn zu oft sei er zu schnell an den Rand einer Leinwand gekommen, wie er es des Öfteren ausdrückte.

Monumentaler Kraftakt

Vor dem Kraftakt, das Original im Panoramasaal zu bewältigen, schuf der Kunstprofessor und Rektor der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig eine Vorfassung, die 10 Mal kleiner als das endgültige Gemälde war. Von diesem pauste man die Konturen aller Figuren minutiös ab und übertrug sie dann 10-fach vergrößert auf die Leinwand im Saal. Die unbehandelte Leinwand wog knapp eine Tonne, wurde von 54 Männern hochgezogen und in über 15 Metern Höhe mit 576 Metallschellen an einem Stahlring befestigt. Auch unten ist sie an einem gleichgroßen Ring fixiert, hängt somit quasi frei im Raum ohne mit der äußeren Bauhülle verbunden zu sein. Eine technische Meisterleistung wie auch die millimetergenaue Übertragung und Einpassung der kleinen Fassung (ein Tafelgemälde) in die Rotunde mit einer Länge von 123 Metern. 

Über 4 Jahre benötigte Werner Tübke mit seinen „Altgesellen“, die ihn bei der malerischen Ausführung unterstützten, um sein „Hauptwerk“, das zum Schluss knapp 3 Tonnen wiegt, fertigzustellen.

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Zeitrepräsentanten des Bauernkriegs und des Humanismus stehen um den Brunnen der Fruchtbarkeit und Unsterblichkeit, versinnbildlicht durch den Granatapfel auf dem Pokalsockel in der Wasserfläche (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

„Entweder es wird ganz irre oder alle blamieren sich“

Dabei war dieses Auftragswerk der DDR auch für Tübke ein Wagnis. Ein Jahr vor Beginn der gesamten Bilderfindung ließ er 1978 verlauten: „Entweder es wird ganz irre oder alle blamieren sich, nicht nur ich.“ Dass letztlich das Panorama Museum, im September 1989 eröffnet, nicht nur die politische Wende unbeschadet überstanden hat, sondern auch 2011 mit dem europäischen Kultur-Erbe-Siegel ausgezeichnet wurde, ist dem Genie Tübkes zu verdanken.

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Klerus - Korrupt und verschwenderisch: Hier bekommen hohe Vertreter des Klerus eine Abreibung (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

Landarmut - Reisende Heimatlose? Die Gruppe ist im Winter mit hochschwangerer Frau und Kindern unterwegs (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

„theatrum mundi“ – ein Welttheater

Aus einem „Bauernkriegs-Panorama“, das ursprünglich nur die Schlacht vom 14./15. Mai 1525 illustrieren sollte, wurde eine „theatrum mundi“ – ein Welttheater, das zu einer Reise in die Vergangenheit einlädt. Ein illustrer Bilderreigen europäischer (Kultur-)Geschichte am Übergang vom Spätmittelalter zur Neuzeit mit Anklängen an Meisterwerke von Bosch, Breughel, Dürer, Cranach… Wer sich einlässt auf diese Bildwelt voller Anspielungen auf Religion, Geschichte, Mythologie, Philosophie oder Literatur wird ein Universum menschlicher Leidenschaften finden, das auch heute noch existent ist und immer sein wird solange wir auf Erden verantwortungsvoll agieren.

Ein Rat sei noch gestattet: Auf Augen, Herz und Verstand vertrauen.  Zur Unterstützung des Erstgenannten bringt man am besten ein Opernglas besser noch ein Fernglas mit. 

Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen

Verkündigung - Durch die Weltkugel geht ein Riss – innen ist die Erde noch eine Scheibe (Panorama Museum Bad Frankenhausen) ©Dieter Leistner, Würzburg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021

Titelbild: Wie ein Tintenfleck verbreitet sich die blaue Farbfläche in der Sommerlandschaft aus. Dahinter verbirgt sich die Prophetie des Jeremia ©Rainer Alexander Gimmel, Nürnberg / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

kampagne_weltkultur