Cool vibes and funky sounds

The young music scene in Thuringia

There’s much more to Thuringia than just classical music, with plenty on fresh sounds for young audiences on offer at venues throughout the region. The success of Erfurt-born rapper and songwriter Clueso is emblematic of a vibrant and richly varied scene here.

Pretty much everywhere in Thuringia has something for the young music lover, from the many festivals held in the summer months to the gigs and concerts taking place in the towns and cities. There is something for every musical taste among the countless events on offer.Thuringia is also a place where creatives can flourish, for example at the Zughafen arts centre in Erfurt. Once an empty office building at the city’s former freight yard, it has been transformed into the base for an independent network of artists, promoters and projects.

An arts centre with a vision

From its humble beginnings of a few music studios run by a small team around Erfurt musician Clueso, the Zughafen has developed into a real draw for creative minds. The team spent thousands of hours refurbishing the building, floor by floor and room by room. Now the place radiates positive energy, which you can feel as soon as you step through the door. The Zughafen company is at the core of the centre’s network of creatives and artisan projects and focuses on music production, artist management and event promotion.

Where there’s jazz

From Dixieland to jam sessions and crossover, jazz plays a big part in the music scene in Thuringia. The main annual event is the Thuringia Jazz Mile festival, which attracts more than 20,000 people to over 300 events held throughout the region. Firm fixtures on the Jazz Mile include workshops for young jazz musicians, as well as concerts featuring popular jazz artists and favourite styles from around the world. The festival normally takes place from the start of October until early November, but the exact dates vary from year to year.

The history of jazz in Thuringia goes back much further, however. All the way to the Bauhaus band, in fact, a musical ensemble formed by students at the Bauhaus school in Weimar, who were playing jazz around a century ago and introduced this American craze to Thuringia’s rather more conservative society. Since those early days, many more jazz clubs and festivals have sprung up across the region. One of the best-known clubs –Jazzclub Eisenach – is located in one of the oldest buildings in the town of Eisenach, just a stone’s throw from the Bach House.

Jazz travel tip

Lippmann+Rau music archive in Eisenach

A chance to explore the history of jazz and popular music. The archive’s collection contains everything from shellac, vinyl, CDs, cassettes and reel-to-reel tapes to photographs, pictures, books and instruments. Basically if it has to do with jazz and music you’ll find it here!

Enjoy pop, electro and folk live

There’s always live music to enjoy in Thuringia, particularly in the summer months when festivals take place across the region. Event highlights at a glance.

frontispiece: Curtis Harding at the Kulturarena, ©Christoph Worsch, JenaKultur 


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

kampagne_musikland

Lässige Vibes und hippe Töne

Junge Musikszene in Thüringen

Thüringen kann nicht nur Klassik, sondern bietet auch einem jungen Publikum moderne Musik-Highlights an angesagten Hotspots im ganzen Freistaat. Ausnahmekünstler Clueso, geboren in Erfurt, ist dabei das beste Beispiel, dass Thüringen einiges an guter Musik zu bieten hat.

Die junge Musikszene kommt in ganz Thüringen zusammen: Feierwütige treffen sich an heißen Tagen bei ausgelassener Stimmung auf Festivals oder genießen spontane Konzerte in den Straßen Thüringer Städte. Bei den zahlreichen Veranstaltungshighlights ist für jeden Musikgeschmack etwas dabei. Auch Kreative finden hier die optimalen Bedingungen, um sich frei zu entfalten. Zum Beispiel im Zughafen in Erfurt: Vor einigen Jahren noch ein leerstehendes Bürohaus, heute ein freies Netzwerk von Künstlern, Organisatoren und Projekten mit Sitz im alten Erfurter Güterbahnhof.

Die Vision des Künstlernetzwerkes

Ausgehend von mehreren Musikstudios und einem kleinen Team um den Erfurter Musiker Clueso, hat sich der Zughafen zu einem Anziehungspunkt kreativer Köpfe entwickelt. Er wurde in tausenden Stunden Eigenleistung aufgemöbelt - Etage für Etage, Raum für Raum. Die positive Energie, die von diesem Ort ausgeht, überträgt sich sofort auf den Besucher. Heute legt die Firma Zughafen als zentraler Kern des Zughafen-Netzwerks ihren Fokus auf Musikproduktionen, Künstlermanagement und Veranstaltungsorganisation.

Wo der Jazz spielt

Dixieland, Jam-Sessions und Crossover: Auch der Jazz spielt in Thüringen eine wichtige Rolle. Jährlicher Veranstaltungs-Höhepunkt ist die Jazzmeile Thüringen mit mehr als 20.000 Besuchern und über 300 Veranstaltungen im ganzen Land. Workshops für junge Jazzer aber auch Konzerte mit besonders „angesagten“ Jazzstilen und -interpreten aus aller Welt sind fester Bestandteil der Jazzmeile Thüringen. Meist dauert sie von Anfang Oktober bis in den November hinein, das variiert jedes Jahr ein wenig. 

Die Geschichte des Jazz in Thüringen ist aber weitaus älter. Schon die Bauhaus-Kapelle, ein musikalischer Zusammenschluss damaliger Studenten am Staatlichen Bauhaus in Weimar, spielte vor etwa 90 Jahren Jazz und machte den amerikanischen Musikstil in Thüringen erstmals salonfähig. Seit dieser Zeit sind im ganzen Land weitere Jazzclubs und -festivals entstanden. Einer der bekanntesten Clubs liegt in Eisenach. Der Jazzclub International befindet sich in einem der ältesten Häuser der Stadt und einen Steinwurf entfernt vom Bachhaus.

 

Reisetipp Jazz

Lippmann+Rau-Musikarchiv

Die Geschichte des Jazz und der populären Musik sind hier erlebbar. Das Archiv sammelt Schellack- und Vinyl-Platten ebenso wie CDs, MCs, Tonbänder, Fotographien, Negative, Graphiken, Bilder, Bücher, Zeitschriften, Instrumente, Radios und vieles mehr.

Pop, Elektro und Folk erleben

Besonders in den Sommermonaten gibt es in Thüringen Einiges auf die Ohren: Auf Festivals im ganzen Land wird ausgelassen getanzt, gesungen und gefeiert. Veranstaltungshighlights im Überblick. 

Headerbild: Curtis Harding bei der Kulturarena, ©Christoph Worsch, JenaKultur 


Hat euch der Artikel gefallen?

kampagne_musikland